WhatsApp and more privacy: it will hide the phone number in the chat

An option to “Share Phone Number” has been added in the beta version of WhatsApp for Android and seeks to protect users’ privacy. (dark room)

WhatsApp protects aggregate For its users, the new option will be to hide a file Telephone number In group chats.

Currently, launching the messaging app allows members of a chat group to view the phone numbers of their colleagues, whether or not they are in their contact list. However, the company is developing a new option that allows users to choose whether they want to share this Information.

According to WABetaInfo, Android app version 2.22.17.23 adds this option Share phone number Under the group information section, which will be activated by default for all users listed in a file group chat.

This way, those who want to share their phone number will have to modify this configuration.

Phone number sharing will be enabled by default.  Those who wish to share this information can enable this option.  (Youtube site)
Phone number sharing will be enabled by default. Those who wish to share this information can enable this option. (Youtube site)

At the moment, this update is only available in the beta version of google apps It is not known when the official version will be released for Android devices or iOS users

The ability to hide the phone number is one of the updates that were made The WhatsApp that are kept within the application’s beta program. Among the most significant changes is the ability to create groups of up to 512 users and Interact with emojis

There are other features and functions that are still in the testing phase, such as the ability for group chat members to see a profile History of previous participants From the conversation thanks to version 2.22.17.21 of WhatsApp beta available for devices Android and some users iOS.

Users will be able to see the list of former WhatsApp group members who have left or been removed from the conversation.  (Debor)
Users will be able to see the list of former WhatsApp group members who have left or been removed from the conversation. (Debor)

“Show old participants” is an option available to those users who belong to beta program It is located at the end of the list of chat members, under the “Group Information” section. However, this record is not historical, but covers a period of 60 days during which the names of people who have left or been removed from the chat are visible to both administrators and members.

See also  The Epic Games launcher will receive a patch to fix CPU usage (Updated)

Finally, among the latest updates to .’s Beta software, The WhatsAppOne of them is related to the security of user accounts. Version 2.22.17.22 features the addition of a new feature, still in development, called “Agree to login” This will enable in-app notifications in case someone else tries to access the account.

When someone wants to enter someone else’s account within the app, the user who owns the profile will have the ability to accept or decline the new login.

The user with the WhatsApp profile will have the ability to accept or reject the new login remotely.  (computer group)
The user with the WhatsApp profile will have the ability to accept or reject the new login remotely. (computer group)

Thanks to this feature, the app will be able to warn users every time someone tries to access the account and they will have to accept access in order to be able to do so. The notification from the app will contain additional details such as where and when the profile was attempted to be accessed, as well as Device type from which it was made.

Read on:

Lovell Loxley

"Alcohol buff. Troublemaker. Introvert. Student. Social media lover. Web ninja. Bacon fan. Reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top