Give these reasons for your inclusion – El Financiero

Government of Costa Rica On September 14, it reaffirmed its desire to join the Treaty between Mexico, the United States and Canada (T-MEC), a proposal that President Rodrigo Chavez It was first introduced to Washington in December 2022.

Manuel Tovar, Costa Rican Minister of Foreign Trade, expressed his country’s interest in joining T-MEC during an online forum organized by Council of the Americass, an American organization that encourages free trade.

“Our economy today is Fully aligned with T-MEC countriesTovar stressed, who stated that his country is working to develop the automotive and aerospace sectors, so it would be “natural” for them to integrate more. In the North American Free Trade Area.

Costa Rica promises to be a “great ally” of the United States

These statements come after the meeting held on August 29 at the White House between President Chavez and his American counterpart, Joe Biden.

In that meeting, Chavez promised Biden that Costa Rica would continue to do so One of the United States’ strongest allies On security and economic issues, with a focus on strengthening trade relations.

According to Costa Rican sources. EvieChavez attended the meeting with the aim of discussing with Biden the inclusion of Costa Rica in the T-MEC, although so far The United States has not taken a position on this request.

The T-MEC came into force in 2020 to replace the old law North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). This treaty has been in effect for more than 25 years and has received criticism for years from American unions and also from former President Donald Trump (2017-2021). Who promoted its renegotiation.

See also  The US Chargé d'Affairs met with Carreras - A.D.N.

The T-MEC is expected to be renegotiated on its sixth anniversary In 2026Which sparked controversy in economic circles about Possibility of expanding it To include other countries on the continent, such as Costa Rica.

Chavez, who assumed the presidency in May 2022, wants to expand Costa Rica’s trade prospects and is trying to persuade his country to join the Pacific Alliance, which currently consists of two countries. Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru.

Aileen Morales

"Beer nerd. Food fanatic. Alcohol scholar. Tv practitioner. Writer. Troublemaker. Falls down a lot."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top