Etias or the European Travel Information and Authorization System: starting in 2024, Colombians will have to obtain a new permit to travel to Europe, so what’s the matter?

If you are someone who will be traveling to Europe next year or planning to go to the old country, remember that starting in 2024, Colombians who want to travel to Europe will have to issue a new permit called Etias or the European Travel Information and Authorization System.

This requirement is a travel permit that will be necessary for citizens of other visa-exempt countries to visit the Old Continent.

Although this new implementation could generate uncertainty for some people planning to travel to another country, unlike a traditional visa, applying for an ETIAS permit is a simpler and more efficient process and is carried out online.

Moreover, it is necessary for Colombians to be informed about ETIAS, because it will facilitate their entry into European countries and members of the Schengen Area for tourist or business travel or transit by air, land or sea.

Will Colombians who will require this permit have to enter EU countries and will they require this permit for foreigners in all EU countries?

According to the EU delegation in Colombia, those who are visa-exempt and plan to travel to the Schengen Area for a short stay will have to apply for a travel authorization through the Etias system before their trip. This includes Colombians, who can travel to the Schengen Area without a visa for short stays.

Read also: Families’ pockets are still suffering due to inflation: it is not falling as quickly as many expect

Can this permit be considered a visa?

Etias is a travel permit, not a visa. This applies to non-EU citizens who plan to travel to the Schengen Area for a short stay and who are already visa exempt.

See also  Kristalina Georgieva continues leadership of the IMF: What does the statement say that confirms its continuity

Moreover, it does not reintroduce visa-like obligations. You will not need to go to a consulate to apply and no additional documents will be required other than a valid travel document.

Likewise, this will not entail any major administrative burden on passengers and the entire process will be quick and simple.

Similar advance travel authorization systems have been in place for many years in other countries, such as the United States, Australia and Canada. Etias will also be essential for trips to Romania, Bulgaria, Cyprus and Croatia.

How will this permit be requested and when will it be necessary to request it?

The EU delegation in Colombia specified that once Etias is operational, travelers will have to request an Etias permit before their visit to the Schengen Area.

It only takes a few minutes to complete the online application, which in the vast majority of cases (estimated at over 95%) will result in automatic approval. The process will be simple, fast and affordable for everyone.

According to current planning, Etias is scheduled to become operational from 2024 (the exact date has not yet been determined).

From this date, this will be a mandatory requirement for Colombian nationals and nationals of visa-exempt countries who wish to travel to Schengen Area countries and other European countries.

Will it have any cost?

An Etias license costs €7, which is a single fee. It will be valid for three years and for multiple entries.

You can get more information at ethe site Directorate General for Migration and Home Affairs of the European Commission.

See also  Baidu debuted on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange

This includes filling out an online form with personal and travel information, as well as going through a background check.

If the application is approved, the traveler will receive an ETIAS permit valid for three years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first.

With this permit, they can enter and travel within the Schengen Area for short-term stays (up to 90 days in a 180-day period) for tourism, trade or transit purposes.

Also Read: This Is Colombia’s Precious Commemorative Coin That Increased Its Value By Up To 15 Times

Etias Europe benefits for Colombians

The online application process is quick and easy. Access multiple countries with one authorization. Long shelf life, allowing for multiple entries. Improves safety and travel experience.

The above is to improve security and border management in the EU while facilitating travel for nationals of visa-exempt countries.

This system was implemented as part of the EU’s efforts to enhance security at its borders and control the flow of people entering the Schengen Area.

Aileen Morales

"Beer nerd. Food fanatic. Alcohol scholar. Tv practitioner. Writer. Troublemaker. Falls down a lot."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top