Wimbledon 2022: All Champions

Wimbledon It is the most traditional tennis tournament. He is the eldest of the four Grand Slams And although each one has his own, all the heroes of this Competition They feel especially special.

Respecting the shades of the environment (olive green prevails from the courts to the stands), the white that tennis players should wear (over time it has become looser, but still the dominant color), this first color of Mondays on Sundays scheduled for competition is a relief ( “Middle Sunday”), it’s all the spices that make Wimbledon a special tournament.

Wimbledon 2022: Roger Federer Super Champion

For everyone Champions at Wimbledon Throughout its Swiss history Roger Federer Who on the most occasions have raised the silver trophy that gentlemen have won: eight times. And what definitely makes him the world’s number one king of English turf is that, in addition to His eight nicknamesHe has four runners-up. In other words, 12 finals, which is an absolute record.

Anyway, there was only American Pete Sampras, who has seven wins in the All England Club, between 1993 and 2000. When there is a great hero, the feeling usually felt by all his contemporaries is that he will not be reachable. Federer overtook Sampras when Pete seemed insurmountable after, in the Open Era, crushing the Wimbledon Five. Bjorn Borg (all in a row).

I also read: Madrid Masters 1000: The year David Nalbandian beat Djokovic, Nadal and Federer

However, Federer is one of the biggest absentees to see at the 2022 edition of Wimbledon. The former world number one, who has not competed fairly since the 2021 British Open, will have to hit the punch again after undergoing a third surgery on his right knee.

See also  The sad farewell of United States national team star Megan Rapinoe after she was injured in her last match: “I am broken”
Pete Sampras (USA) is one of the biggest winners in Wimbledon history: he lifted the trophy seven times.

Will Federer’s mark be unbreakable? Currently, Novak Djokovic, third-ranked ATP and number one at Wimbledon 2022, has won six times, is twice out of Roger’s equation and turns 35 in May. everything is possible.

I also read: Roger Federer spoke again about a possible retirement from tennis: ‘The next few months will be key’

As was the case for the British, who had come for generations to watch their “tournaments” without anyone winning. Because since 1936, when Englishman Fred Perry won it, until he was crowned 2013 Britain’s Andy MurrayIn the UK, there were no winners. Murray was Scottish, not English, at that point, with his 77 years of drought, it was a minor detail.

The last 50 Wimbledon champions in the Open Era

  • 1971 John Newcomb (Australia).
  • 1972 Stan Smith (USA).
  • 1973 Jan Kodes (Czechoslovakia)
  • 1974 Jimmy Connors (USA).
  • 1975 Arthur Ashe (USA).
  • 1976 Björn Borg (Sweden).
  • 1977 Björn Borg (Sweden).
  • 1978 Björn Borg (Sweden).
  • 1979 Björn Borg (Sweden).
  • 1980 Björn Borg (Sweden).
  • 1981 John McEnroe (USA)
  • 1982 Jimmy Connors (USA).
  • 1983 John McEnroe (USA).
  • 1984 John McEnroe (USA).
  • 1985 Boris Becker (Germany).
  • 1986 Boris Becker (Germany).
Although grass is not his preferred surface, Rafael Nadal has won Wimbledon twice: 2008 and 2010.
Although grass is not his preferred surface, Rafael Nadal has won Wimbledon twice: 2008 and 2010.
  • 1987 Pat Cash (Australia).
  • 1988- Stefan Edberg (Sweden).
  • 1989 Boris Becker (Germany).
  • 1990 Stefan Edberg (Sweden).
  • 1991 Michael Stitch (Germany).
  • 1992 Andre Agassi (USA).
  • 1993 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1994 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1995- Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1996 – Richard Krajicek (Netherlands).
  • 1997 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1998 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1999 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 2000 Pete Sampras (USA).
  • 1996 – Richard Krajicek (Netherlands).
  • 2001 Goran Ivanisevic (Croatia).
  • 2002 Lleyton Hewitt (Australia).
  • 2003 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2004 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
See also  Watches and where do you see the caraz
Bjorn Borg (Sweden) won Wimbledon five times in a row between 1976 and 1980.
Bjorn Borg (Sweden) won Wimbledon five times in a row between 1976 and 1980.
  • 2005 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2006 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2007 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2008 Rafael Nadal (Spain).
  • 2009 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2010 Rafael Nadal (Spain).
  • 2011 Novak Djokovic (Serbia).
  • 2012 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2013 – Andy Murray (UK)
  • 2014 Novak Djokovic (Serbia).
  • 2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia).
  • 2016 – Andy Murray (UK).
  • 2017 Roger Federer (Switzerland).
  • 2018 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
  • 2019 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
  • 2020 – Not played due to pandemic
  • 2021 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top