These are the seven countries in America that require a visa for Colombians

international travel It can be an exciting experience, full of unforgettable moments, and an opportunity to gain new learning, and get to know other cultures, landscapes or workspace.

However, on several occasions, one of the greatest Limitations to achieve this purpose are visa, Document required by some states to allow entry foreign to their lands, Due to the lack of time, long lines and cumbersome procedures, it is not easy to order.

Currently more than 90 countries and regions around the world They allow Colombians to travel without a visa, according to information from the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. This is a representative amount if we consider that in 2010, Colombians could enter only 25 non-state countries and territories without a visa.

but, If the flight is via AmericaOnly 7 countries require Colombians to obtain a visa. It is possible to travel freely in the rest of the continent. It’s about:

  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Haiti
  • Lucia Street
  • Saint Tomé
  • Canada
  • United State

In case The United States and Colombians require a B1/B2 visa For tourist or business trips. The B1 visa is for business trips, while the B2 visa is for tourist trips.

In case Canada, Colombians Need a visitor visa For tourist or business trips. The visitor visa is valid for up to six months.

In the case of the other countries mentioned, lColombians need a tourist visa for tourist trips. The tourist visa is valid for up to 90 days.

More importantly, although it is possible to travel without a visa through the rest of the countries in the region, it is… Only with passport In many of them, it is necessary to provide medical insurance with minimum conditions that guarantee emergency and hospital care; Failure to obtain it may result in the traveler being denied entry or even deported.

See also  Colombian-American businessmen besieged: Colombian businessmen demanding the United States to make a statement against the international blockade

Procedures for obtaining an entry visa to Costa Rica

Colombian citizens who wish to travel to Costa Rica for tourism, business or transit purposes must apply for a tourist visa. The procedures for obtaining a tourist visa to Costa Rica are as follows:

Make an appointment at the Costa Rican Embassy or Consulate in Colombia. To do this, you can access the website of the General Directorate of Immigration and Immigration of Costa Rica and select the “Visa Application” option.

Payment of consular fees. The cost of a tourist visa is 50 USD. Payment can be made in cash using a credit or debit card at the Costa Rican embassy or consulate.

Read also

Submit the required documents. The documents required to apply for a tourist visa to Costa Rica are the following:

  • A passport valid for at least six months
  • Duly completed visa application form.
  • Two recent photographs, 3.5 x 4.5 cm in size.
  • International certificate of vaccination against yellow fever.
  • Invitation letter from a Costa Rican citizen or a Costa Rican company.
  • Proof of financial solvency (bank statement, income certificate, etc.).
  • Accommodation and transportation reservations.

Attend the appointment at a Costa Rican embassy or consulate. At the appointment, the applicant must submit the required documents and answer the consular officer’s questions.

The processing time for a tourist visa to Costa Rica is approximately 15 working days. The applicant will receive an email or phone call notifying them if their visa has been approved or denied.

If the visa is approved, the applicant must collect it from a Costa Rican embassy or consulate. The tourist visa is valid for one year and allows the applicant to enter Costa Rica for a maximum of 90 days.

See also  Cuba thanked Canadian businessmen for their trust - Prensa Latina

Countries that do not require a visa for Colombians


Chile, Dominican Republic, Bolivia, Venezuela, Argentina, Brazil, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Uruguay, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, Honduras, Barbados, Bahamas, Aruba, Curacao, Jamaica, Saint Vincent and the Comoros. Grenadines, Belize, Suriname, Paraguay, Cuba, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Martin, Martinique, French Guiana, Saint Eustatius, Saint Barthelemy, Saba Island and Dominica.

United Kingdom, Greece, Spain, Germany, Georgia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Sweden, Latvia, Cyprus, Turkey, Slovakia, Finland, France, Hungary, Monaco, Vatican City, Switzerland, Lithuania, Italy, Russia, San Marino, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Croatia, Czech Republic, Austria, Albania, Estonia, Moldova, Kosovo, Montenegro, Netherlands, Liechtenstein, Slovenia, Andorra, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Portugal, Romania, Iceland and Malta.


New Chalcedon, Wallis and Futuna, Samoa and French Polynesia.


South Korea, Maldives, Philippines, Hong Kong, Israel, Qatar and Singapore.


Morocco, Reunion and Mayotte

Aileen Morales

"Beer nerd. Food fanatic. Alcohol scholar. Tv practitioner. Writer. Troublemaker. Falls down a lot."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top