US Open 2023: When the last major tournament of the year will be played

The 2023 US Open will start on Monday, August 28, and is the last Grand Slam of the season and one of the highlights of the ATP and WTA calendar year. The best tennis players in the world come together New York, USA, to rule the heroes. And in the male branch carlos Alcaraz, that comes from winning Wimbledon, He will seek to defend the title Which he achieved in 2022 after defeating Norwegian Casper Rudd in the final. in the feminine, Meanwhile, Polish Iga Swiatek will be seeking to lift the trophy again Which he got last year in front of the Tunisian Anas Jaber.

The prestigious tournament will take place between Monday, August 28th and Sunday, September 10th At the Billie Jean King National Tennis Center of the United States Tennis Association (USTA), $65 million in prize money will be distributed. there Nine Argentine tennis players are confirmed for the main draw and four more have chances to participate in the qualifiers. Those classified include: Francisco Cerendolo, Thomas Echeverri, Sebastian Páez, Pedro Cachin, Facundo Diaz Acosta, Juan Manuel Cirendolo, Diego Schwartzman, Guido Bella, and Nadja Podoroska. for his part Thiago Tirante, Federico Correa, Francisco Comisana, and Julia Riera They must pass the final stage of classification to advance to the first round.

Francisco Cirindolo faces the 2023 US Open as the top seeded ArgentineGlenn Kirk – AFP

“Fran” Sirondolo (ranked 20 in the ATP rankings) and com. etcheverry (32nd place) will start his participation against the tennis players coming from the qualifying stages. Bayes (42) He will make his debut against the Croatian Borna Couric (27°) f cashin (66) He will do it against the American Ben Shelton (46 degrees). for his part, Diaz Acosta (93 degrees) will play against the local and the guest John Eisner (previously top ten and today he is 158th, who will retire from the circuit once his participation in the championship ends) and “Juanma” Serondolo (100 degrees) vs. Bulgarian Ilya Ivashka (99 degrees). finally, Schwartzman (116) He will face the French Arthur Renderknech (73 degrees) f Mass (210 degrees) to South Africa Lloyd Harris (178 degrees). Podoroska (71), meanwhile, will face China as a first-round opponent qinwenzheng (23).

See also  When is Boxing Day 2022 and what are the English Premier League matches?

In particular, the competition will witness the return of one of the best tennis players in history, Novak Djokovic, who was not present in the previous edition. For refusing to be vaccinated against COVID-19. The Serb, a tournament finalist and champion at two of the four Grand Slams this year (Australian Open and Roland Garros), has just won the Cincinnati Masters 1000, so he’s set a new high as a favourite. next to, will not defend points in the standings, He is just 20 units behind No. 1, Carlos Alcaraz, who is defending from 2000 due to his status as current champion. this means that, And if he beats the rising Frenchman Alexandre Muller (127) in the first round, he will regain the throne.

Novak Djokovic becomes Cincinnati Masters 1000 champion, in US Open previewMichael Hickey – Getty Images North America

The tournament starts on Monday, August 28th and runs until Sunday, September 10th in New York, USA. Highlights can be watched live on TV via the various ESPN signals, while all matches are broadcast exclusively on the Star+ live streaming platform. For their part, those who have Flow, Telecentro Play or DGO can listen to the sports channel directly through the platform (an active subscription is required in all cases).

male branch

female branch

In the men’s branch, since the tournament was first held in 1881, three American players have remained at the top in terms of the number of crowns: Bill Tilden, William Larned And Richard Sears. Each of them raised a cup seven times (Sears did this consecutively between 1881 and 1887), but they did it during their amateur days. If we take into account only awards in professional (since 1968), the first winners are the Americans Sampras House And jimmy Connors, and Swiss Roger Federerwith Five titles each (In the case of the Swiss, it was all between 2004 and 2008.)

See also  Mexican women's team, willing to pay the FIFA penalty

On the female side, the Norwegian American Mola Björstedt Mallory It was he who dominated the scene in the amateur era by winning eight titles, Followed by the American Helen Willis Moodywho was crowned seven times. And in the professional and, at the same time, domestic Chris Evert And Serena Williams They raised the cup six times each.

Serena Williams and Roger Federer, the best US Open winners of the professional eraFrance Press agency
Learn about the trust project

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top