The United States and Slovenia confirmed that they will face Spain in Malaga

The United States Basketball Association has confirmed the final list of players who will compete in the upcoming World Championships, who will be in Malaga in mid-August to face Spain and Slovenia in the Centennial Championship.

For their part, the Slovenes also announced on Monday the first list of 16 players, which will be headed by Luka Doncic as in previous tournaments. There are two national players in the Slovenian national team, both centers, Jordan Morgan, who is participating for the first time, and Barcelona player Mike Toby, who is expected to be on the final list for the World Cup.

“Team USA” will be coached for another year by Golden State Warriors coach Steve Kerr, who will lead a group of high-level players. Kerr had only one player left to confirm and chose goalkeeper Josh Hart (New York Knicks).

It’s a young team looking to win back Spain’s world title after winning the title in China. Missing from the call are several well-known NBA names, who chose to participate in the World Cup either by personal decision or because their clubs wouldn’t allow them due to contractual issues.

In the face of the tournament to be held in Malaga, the formation of the Spanish national team is still unknown. Sergio Scarillo will hand the list on Wednesday in Madrid and is still awaiting Lorenzo Brown’s decision. Alberto Diaz and Dario Brizuela are expected to be among those selected.

United States national team

Josh Hart (New York Knicks), Brandon Ingram (New Orleans Pelicans), Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies), Anthony Edwards (Minnesota Timberwolves), Paolo Panchero (Orlando Magic), Tyrese Haliburton (Indiana Pacers), Austin Reeves (Los Angeles) Lakers), Michal Bridges (Brooklyn Nets), Bobby Portis (Milwaukee Bucks), Jalen Bronson (New York Knicks), Walker Kessler (Utah Jazz) and Cam Johnson (Brooklyn Nets).

Slovenia national team

Jaka Blazic, Sasa Ciani, Vlatko Cankar, Jakub Sepacic, Ziga Demic, Luka Doncic, Zoran Dragic, Grigor Glass, Grigor Hrovat, Urban Klavzar, Jazz Konik, Miha Labournik, Jurig Makura, Blaz Mahkovic, Jordan Morgan, Peksig, Clement Pribelic, Ziga Samar and Mike Toby.

See also  Gold Cup 2023: CONCACAF announces the official venues for the event

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top