Puerto Rico organizes the eight-team FIBA ​​Qualifiers | What’s up the news

San Juan, February 10 (EFE). – The Puerto Rican government announced Wednesday that San Juan will host the third qualifying window for Group C and D of the FIBA ​​AmeriCup 2022 from February 17-21.

The national teams of the Bahamas, Canada, Cuba, the United States, the US Virgin Islands, Mexico, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic will play their matches at the Roberto Clemente Coliseum.

We must gradually prepare for the new normal and show that we know how to do things, ”said Pedro Pierluese, the island’s governor.

The competition, according to official accounts, will lead to hotel occupancy and pumping $ 1.4 million into the local economy, in addition to creating about 100 direct and indirect jobs in sectors such as security, maintenance and transportation.

“This kind of event generates economic and tourism investments that have been greatly affected. Holding here is a great victory for the island,” Pierluese stressed.

“I hope to return to reality by the end of the summer and show the world that we are ready and that we are the best place to visit and come to Puerto Rico,” he added.

Group C consists of Canada, Cuba, the Dominican Republic and the US Virgin Islands.

In Group D, the Bahamas, the USA, Mexico and Puerto Rico teams were played.

The top three teams from each group will qualify for the 2022 Basketball World Cup.

Puerto Rico’s Basketball Association president, Yom Ramos, said, “What everyone thought was impossible has become reality, because of the protocols that must be followed.”

“I hope this is a success, and so I make it clear that Puerto Rico is open, that we are recovering and that we are able to implement this reality. Each of these delegations has to make ends meet, providing a direct injection to the local citizens. The economy.”

See also  UK PMI proposes to boost the global economy

Group C leads the Dominican Republic (3 wins and 1 loss, with 7 points), followed by Cuba (1-2, 4 points), the US Virgin Islands (1-2, 4) and Canada (1). 1, with 3)

Group D is dominated by the United States (4 wins without losing and 8 points), followed by Mexico (2-2, 6 points), Puerto Rico (1-3, 5) and the Bahamas (1-3, 5). .

The main character of Puerto Rico is points goalkeeper Jose Juan Barry, current member of Movistar Estudiantes of the ACB League.

Group C played at the Hard Rock Fillmore Ballroom in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, and Group D at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis.

On that final day of challenges, the Dominican Republic overwhelmed Cuba in its 96-60 home country.

In Group D, the US national team defeated Mexico 94-78 and remained unbeaten in four matches. Puerto Rico defeated the Bahamas 91-85.

The Colombian city of Cali will organize the activities of groups A and B.

The first group consists of Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Venezuela.

Argentina and Venezuela share first place with 3-1 and 7 points, while Chile and Colombia score 1-3 and 5 points.

The second group includes Brazil, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay.

Brazil leads with four wins in an equal number from the start and 8 points. They are followed by Uruguay and Panama with 6 points from two wins and two losses. Paraguay shuts down without points thanks to its fall 4.

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top