Pen Media Inc

Complete News World

Foley moved to Canada › Sports › Granma

Today, Tuesday, Cuba will open its participation in the Women's Continental Volleyball Championship, facing the Dominican Republic, which will last until September 3, in Quebec, Canada.

The first group of the event consists of host country Mexico and Puerto Rico, while the second group is completed by Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic and the United States. Like the previous Final Six competition, in the Dominican Republic, the winners of the qualifying rounds qualify directly to the semi-finals, while the second and third-place finishers advance to the quarter-finals.

The Cubans will have, as competitors, the Americans and Costa Ricans, in that order, in the programs starting in the afternoon. The Caribbean women lead the Classic tournament winners with 13 titles, seven silver medals and two bronze medals, followed by the United States (8-12-3). The Dominican Republic won the last editions (2019-2021), and has three silver and five bronze medals.

In the sixth final, Cuba lost twice to the Dominicans, once to Canada, and beat Mexico twice and Puerto Rico once, to take the bronze medal. Levis technical director Usmani Garcia said the event helped implement some new techniques that still need improvement, beyond the result.

Also in Canada, in the city of Edmonton, the men's team will play the sixth final, from September 17 to 25, an exhibition that will serve as a preparation for the Brazilian Pre-Olympics, from September 30 to October 8, where there will be eight of the best The difference in the world.

See also  David Beckham greets Leo Messi at Inter Miami with a touching video: "It should have been him."

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top