The most open version due to the lack of stars

Ago Gerrard Pique He began to organize Davis Cup In 2019, the tournament has undergone major changes, although it has not yet achieved its main goal, to attract the great stars of the king of racket sports once again. This competition, founded in 1900, has been going on for many years Like most of the best players in the ATP rating, they gave up playingsomething the Cosmos Group tried to change but without much success.

In the 2022 edition, which kicks off on Tuesday, November 22, there will be eight teams competing to win the cup next Sunday. AustraliaAnd the HollandAnd the SpainAnd the CroatiaAnd the United StateAnd the ItaliaAnd the Germany s Canada They will fight for the same goal. In addition, no team can be left out, as the lack of top stars means that everyone starts with their choices to be champions.

Top favourites

Although all teams should be considered, they are Canada s United State Teams that start as favorites for the title. First of all, the Canadians have the best player in the entire competition, Felix Auger-Aliassime, number six in the world. In addition, they also have them in their ranks Denis Shapovalov s Vasek Pospisiltwo tennis players who really shone in this competition.

For its part, the United States will have Taylor Fritzwho recently reached the semifinals of the Copa de Maestros, as well as Francis Tiafoe s Tommy Paul As singles players and one of the best doubles players in the world such as Jack Sock.

See also  Without Chicharito Hernandez or Carlos Vela: How perfect has MLS 11 been this season

Another selection that is among my favorites is Croatia. In fact, the Croats are the only ones who have a Grand Slam champion like him. Marin Cilic, who will try to guide his team to a new final and redeem themselves from the ones they lost last year. Alongside Cilic will be Coric, the current Cincinnati Masters 1000 champion and one of the most suitable doubles pairs on the circuit, Mektic and Pavic.

On the other side of the coin would be Italy. Who was the biggest candidate even for tournament director David Ferrer, who commented: «Italy are the favourites, they have put together a group of players who have a good chance of winningHe commented in the presentation of the tournament. However, at the last moment the Alpine lines were lost Yannick Sinner s Matteo Berettini So they were left with a team without much argument for winning the championship.

Spain options

It was probably the best tennis year in Spanish history. With Alcaraz and Nadal as numbers one and two, respectively He won three of his four Grand Slam titles this season. On the other hand, in this Davis Cup, the two great players of Spanish tennis will not be present, so they will be present Roberto Bautista s Pablo Carino Those responsible for the fight to take the trophy. He will also be on the team Marcel Granollerswho will be the specialist in the doubles method that Spain has.

The Spaniards will start their journey against Croatia in a match that will be very complicated and where Spain will need the support of its people To try to get ahead of the competition. It must be remembered that all matches will consist of two singles matches and, if necessary, one of doubles, to best of three sets and with tie breaker. The first singles match will face the two lowest ranked players among those selected by the captain; Second, for single numbers of each formation. Therefore, Pablo Carreno will be in charge of facing Marin Cilic.

See also  Paul Ambrosio, the Peruvian wrestler seeking a surprise in Tokyo | News

The absence of the hero

The great absence of competition will be the current champion. Russia will not be able to participate in this edition of the Davis Cup When it was overturned by the invasion of Ukraine. Tennis has joined most sports bodies and Russia and Belarus have been banned from all competitions in the country. This way, no Daniel Medvedev Neither Andrey Rublev They will be in Malaga to defend last year’s title.

It also highlights the absence Novak Djokovic. Serbia did not manage to qualify for this final stage – they were eliminated by Spain and Canada – so Nol will not be part of the tournament he loves and has only managed to win once, in 2010.

Economic prizes

the difference Prizes of $20 million will be distributed. The winner will pocket some 3.5 million2.4 to the players and the rest to their association. Just to participate, each team will take $900,000amounts that have increased exponentially since Cosmos is ahead of the competition.

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top