Serbia will face Germany and Canada in the ATP Cup

Melbourne (AFP) Defending champions Serbia led by Novak Djokovic will face Germany and Canada in the group stage of the ATP Cup, which will be played from February 1-5 in Melbourne Park.

Friday’s draw placed Australia, the hosts, in tough Group Two, with Spain and Greece, Rafael Nadal. Serbia defeated Spain in the final of the first edition of this competition, in 2020.

Argentina, led by Diego Schwartzman, will face Russia and Japan in the first stage.

Greece will be led by Stephanos Tsitsipas, sixth in the world ranking. Alex de Minor leads the Australian team, which reached the semi-finals last year.

The inaugural edition of the tournament was held last year in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney. But due to restrictions imposed by the coronavirus pandemic, the 2021 edition will only be played in Melbourne Park, the same venue as the Australian Open that starts on February 8th.

The 12 teams were divided into four groups during the first stage, playing against everyone. The top four of each group advance to the semi-finals.

Group A: Serbia, Germany and Canada.

Group Two: Spain, Greece and Australia.

Group C: Austria, Italy and France.

Group D: Russia, Argentina and Japan.

See also  Francis confirms his trip to Canada in July despite knee pain

Sacha Woodward

"Wannabe writer. Lifelong problem solver. Gamer. Incurable web guru. Professional music lover."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top