Palmarés Princess of Asturias Sports Award: list of winners year by year

Eliud Kipchoge on Thursday joined the list of sports stars that make up the winners of the Princess of Asturias Sports Awards. Some awards that throughout their history have recognized the path and work of athletes, institutions and sports personalities to bring their competitions and disciplines into the global spotlight.

Palmares Princess of Asturias Award for Sport

2023: Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)

2022: Team and Refugee Olympic Foundation

2021: Teresa Perales (Spain).

2020: Carlos Sainz (Spain).

2019: Lindsey Vonn (USA).

2018: Reinhold Messner (Italy) and Krzysztof Wielicki (Poland).

2017: All Blacks (New Zealand rugby union team)

2016: Javier Gomez Noya (Spain).

2015: Pau and Marc Gasol (Spain).

2014: New York Marathon (USA)

2013: Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain)

2012: Iker Casillas and Xavi Hernandez (Spain).

2011: Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia)

2010: Spanish Football Team (Spain)

2009: Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia)

2008: Rafael Nadal (Spain).

2007: Michael Schumacher (Germany).

2006: Spanish Basketball Team (Spain)

2005: Fernando Alonso (Spain).

2004: Hicham El Guerrouj (Morocco).

2003: Tour de France (France)

2002: Brazil national football team (Brazil)

2001: Manel Estiarte (Spain).

2000: Lance Armstrong (USA).

1999: Steffi Graf (Germany).

1998: Arantxa Sanchez Vicario (Spain).

1997: Spanish Marathon Team (Spain)

1996: Carl Lewis (USA).

1995: Hassiba Boulmerga (Algeria).

1994: Martina Navratilova (USA).

1993: Javier Sotomayor (Cuba).

1992: Miguel Andurin (Spain).

1991: Sergey Bubka (Ukraine)

1990: Sito Ponce (Spain).

1989: Severiano Ballesteros (Spain).

1988: Juan Antonio Samaranch (Spain).

1987: Sebastian Coe (UK)

See also  Billie Jean King Cup Finals, Return & Premiere

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top