Gary Lineker, Vásquez Montalban Prize Winner

BARCELONA, Jan 19 (EFE) – Former British footballer Gary Lineker, winner of the 2021 Manuel Vázquez Montalbán International Press Prize, has been selected in the Sports Journalism category, FC Barcelona announced on Wednesday.

The former England international, who played for Barcelona between 1986 and 1989, entered the world of networking after hanging up his boots. At the BBC, he has led programs such as Gary Lineker’s Golden Boots and, above all, Match of the day.

He is currently a LaLiga Ambassador and comments and analyzes the Spanish Championship for viewers in the UK and Ireland on LaLiga TV.

The award jury, made up of journalists Monica Tirepas, Ramon Besa, Serge Pamis, Jordi Basti, Jaume Pujol Galciran, Ernst Fulch, Borja de Ricker, Santiago Segurola and Josep Maria Sole-Sabate, also recognized Gary Lineker’s communication skills, as a destination His sarcastic and critical look at football.

This award, given since 2004 in memory of journalist and writer Manuel Vazquez Montalbán, distinguishes journalistic careers in two categories: cultural and political journalism and sports journalism.

This second category is awarded by the College of Journalists of Catalonia and FC Barcelona, ​​and has a prize money of 6000 euros and a commemorative sculpture.

Here is the list of the winners of the Vásquez Montalban International Prize for Sports Journalism:

2004: Patrick Minion

2005: Joaquim Maria Boyal

2006: Juan Veloro

2007: Simon Cooper

2008: Candido Canavu

2009: Ramon Besa

2010: Eduardo Galeano

2011: Santiago Segurola

2012: Nick Hornby

2013: Sergey Pamis

2014: Eduardo Gonçalves de Andrade “Tostão”

2017: Michael Robinson

2018: Emanuela Odisio

See also  This is how the MLB 2021 season matches will be broadcast on ESPN

2019: Jorge Valdano

In 2015 and 2016 the award was not announced. In 2020, the pandemic prevented her from being invited.

(c) EFE . Agency

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top