Set WhatsApp for This Saturday, May 15th, the grace period for millions of users to accept the new terms and conditions for use That caused Wave of criticism To the podium earlier this year.
On its new terms, the platform He asks his users (Except for residents of the European region) Who agree to share data with Facebook, The parent company of the courier service.
Starting this Friday, Those who do not accept the new update will start getting limited service.
“No user account will be deleted or access to WhatsApp features will be removed on May 15th due to this updateIt says the statute on its website.
Access is through notifications
As of May 15, those who do not accept the new terms and conditions They will not be able to access your chat list when the service is opened.
“But You can answer calls and video calls. If notifications are activated, you can touch them to read or reply to messages, and also to return missed calls or video calls, “the company says.
These users will be able to interact with their contacts through the onscreen notifications.
If the user still does not accept the update after “a few weeks”, he will not receive any calls or notifications and “WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.”.
The restrictions won’t happen to all users at the same time, according to the company.
WhatsApp notes that in recent weeks it has sent out a notification for users to “review and accept changes” if they don’t.
But in a few days, Reminder “will be persistent” Until the user makes a decision.
Although it will not delete the account of those who do not accept, the platform will apply its policy to existing accounts that are inactive.
These rules state that if the user does not use the platform for more than 120 days, the account will be deleted “in order to maintain security, reduce data retention, and protect users’ privacy.”
Users can export their chat history as an alternative to avoid losing their conversations.
Source: BBC Mondo