In November 2020, Google announced some changes related to Google Photos, Gmail, and Google Drive (including Google Jamboard, Sites, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, and Forms). These are the updates that will take effect from June 1 and will affect accounts that are inactive or exceed the available space quota for two years or more, meaning that the consequences of this change will begin to appear from 2023.
Each Google account includes a free 15GB storage share, which is shared between content in Gmail, Google Drive, and Google Photos. Once this available space is consumed, if you wish to continue using the cloud service then you can purchase a membership Google One, The cloud storage service the company launched in 2018.
What if I run out of space? You will no longer be able to upload files or photos to Google Drive; In addition to creating original quality backups of photos or videos in Google Photos. At this point, it should be noted that until June 1, all multimedia content saved in “high quality” (which is lower than the original resolution) will not take up space. Now: Pictures and videos that are saved in any type of quality (high or original) after that date will take up a storage quota, as detailed Here.
It is possible that if you run out of space, you will not be able to send or receive emails via Gmail, although you will still be able to access your Google account. But in order to continue to have all the storage options it provides, you will have to free up space and delete emails, multimedia content, files, etc. that you no longer need or get extra space in them. Google One.
What happens if I don’t fix the lack of space or my account has been inactive for a long time? If you exceeded your space quota two or more years ago and didn’t free up or buy more space to go below the limit, Google may remove all of the content you have in Gmail, Drive, and Pictures.. The same thing can happen if you have an account that has been inactive for two years or more, that is, if you don’t use it. The simplest way to keep your data active is to visit Gmail, Google Photos, and Google Drive periodically.
But before this happens, you will receive an email notification and other in-product notifications from Google. The company states, in its terms and conditions, that the user will be contacted at least three months prior to meeting the requirements to delete the content.
In addition, the user will be given the opportunity to prevent their content from being erased either by purchasing more storage or removing the files. There are some strategies for effectively removing content that is no longer relevant and takes up a lot of space, as shown in This note.
In turn, to avoid losing information, the user has the ability to download all content that is hosted on Google services, for which it is necessary to follow the steps mentioned in This article.