Verstappen was victorious again at the Canadian Grand Prix

Max Verstappen won Sunday's Canadian Grand Prix for the third year in a row, taking the star Red Bull driver to 60 Formula 1 victories, and six of the nine races held this season.

The 25-year-old Dutchman started second in the rain alongside qualifying winner George Russell, took control early once the sun came up and once again dominated the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on the Virgin Islands in the St Lawrence River.

Verstappen finished the race 3.879 seconds behind McLaren driver Lando Norris in the 70-lap race on the 4.361-kilometre circuit.

Mercedes took the next two positions, with Russell third and seven-time Montreal title winner Lewis Hamilton fourth. McLaren's Oscar Piastri finished fifth, followed by Aston Martin's Fernando Alonso and Lance Stroll.

Last year in Montreal, Verstappen started from pole and led every lap. He has won the last three world championships.

Read also: Carlos Alcaraz won his first tournament at Roland Garros

Verstappen started second on Sunday after a jump, having earned the same lap time as Russell in qualifying on Saturday. Russell got the pole because he recorded the time first.


See also  After eliminating Nadal, Novak Djokovic will face Stefanos Tsitsipas in Roland Garros final: Time & TV

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top