USA defeats Canada in CONCACAF Women’s Final | Sports

MONRI, Mexico (AFP) – Alex Morgan converted a penalty in the 78th minute and the United States won the CONCACAF W Championship 1-0 over Canada, securing one of the region’s berths in the 2024 Olympics.

As FIFA President Gianni Infantino watched from inside the penalty area, the United States managed to break a goalless tie when Rose Lavelle was fouled in the penalty area and Morgan avoided Canadian goalkeeper Kellen Sheridan from the penalty spot. This was Morgan’s 118th goal in his football career.

Meanwhile, Jamaica defeated Costa Rica 1-0 in overtime in a previous encounter on Monday to crown third place in the tournament.

The four teams that qualified for the semi-finals had already secured their places in the 2023 World Cup, which will be held next summer in Australia and New Zealand. Finalist Canada will face Jamaica in a match at the region’s other Olympic berth in September 2023.

The United States is 33-0 in a World Cup or Olympics qualifier, since losing 2-1 to Mexico before the 2011 World Cup.

In the previous meeting, Kalyssa van Zanten scored in the 102nd minute to put Jamaica ahead. Van Xanten, who plays for Notre Dame, came on as a substitute in the 99th minute and scored a goal with a fine pass from Drew Spence.

Perhaps Costa Rica’s biggest chance came in the first half, when Melissa Herrera faced Jamaican goalkeeper Rebecca Spencer unopposed, but sent the ball too far to the left.

The United States has fought every World Cup since its inception in 1991. The Americans have won four titles, including the last two in 2015 and 2019.

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top