The United States, which includes 19 players from the MLS, will seek to win the 2021 Gold Cup

Nineteen players from the Professional Football League (MLS) will be part of the US team that will play the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup this month, after the squad of 23 summoned was announced on Thursday.

The United States coach, Greg Berhalter, decided to identify the talent of the American League with which he will try to achieve the seventh title of the most important biennial championship in CONCACAF, which he has not won since 2017.

The United States begins its journey within Group B, with teams from Canada and Martinique and the team to be determined from the preliminary round will be Barbados, Bermuda, Haiti or Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Team USA will play all Group B games at Children’s Mercy Park, home of Sporting Kansas City, MLS.

An injured player can be substituted on the roster up to 24 hours before their first game on July 11 against a preliminary round team, although any substitution must come from the initial roster of 60 players.

“Our priority is to win the Gold Cup,” Berhalter said in a statement. “Every time we compete for a title we want to win.” “It will take a lot of effort on the part of the group, but without a doubt that is one of our goals. We know the matches are going to be tough, and as we look at the roster for this tournament, we focus on players who are fit and can help the team win.”

Thirteen different MLS clubs are represented on the national team roster, or just under half of the league. Atlanta United and Colorado Rapids top the list with three players, while DC United and New York City have two.

See also  Cesar Montes apologizes to the fans after being sent off against the United States

Notable MLS players include New England Revolution goalkeeper Matt Turner. LA Galaxy midfielder Sebastian Leggett and Orlando City striker Daryl Dyke.

There will also be 12 players who will have the opportunity to participate for the first time in the official competition with the United States.

The Gold Cup Final will be held on August 1 at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas.

List of invitees by Berhalter:

goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Shawn Johnson (New York City FC) and Matt Turner (New England Revolution).

Defenses: George Bellow (Atlanta United), Reggie Cannon (Boavista), Chuck Moore (Tenerife), Donovan Pines (DC United), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United), James Sands (New York City FC), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids) wi Walker Zimmerman (Nashville).

Midfielders: Kilian Acosta (Colorado Rapids), Gianluca Pusio (Sporting Kansas City), Sebastian Lightgate (LA Galaxy), Christian Roldan (Seattle Sounders), Eric Williamson (Portland Timbers), Jackson Yoel (San Jose Earthquakes)

Attackers: Paul Areola (DC United), Daryl Dyke (Orlando City), Nicholas Giuacchini (Kayne Matthew Hobby), Schalke Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids) and Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew).

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top