Radio Havana Cuba Two American cities host a baseball game before the Olympics


WASHINGTON, March 18 (Prinsa Latina) – ESPN TV revealed that the Olympic baseball preliminary games of the Americas will be held from May 31 to June 5 in Port St. Lucie and West Palm Beach, in the United States.

According to this medium, documents sent by the World Baseball and Softball Federation to the participating countries specify that two baseball spring training grounds in the United States in Florida will organize the competition.

The former will be the one used by the New York Mets (Clover Park), in Port Saint Lucie, and the second, which is shared by the Houston Astros and Washington Nationals (The Ballpark of the Palm Beaches) in West Palm Beach.

Eight teams will participate in the tournament, divided into two groups: A (the United States, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic) and B (Canada, Colombia, Cuba and Venezuela).

The preliminary schedule will open with four confrontations on Monday, May 31: with the Caribbean duel between Puerto Rico and the Dominican Republic, and the match between Cuba and Venezuela, scheduled for 1:00 pm local time.

Later, Nicaragua, the United States, and Colombia collide against Canada (19:00 local time).

Once the confrontations between the two switches are over, the first two will advance to the Super Round, with each playing two challenges. At this point, the selections will pull results between them from the first stage.

The winner will qualify for the Olympics and join South Korea, Japan, Israel and Mexico who have already qualified. Teams that finished second and third in the Americas will advance to the final, 16-20 June in Taichung, Chinese Taipei.

See also  Canadian Football: The unusual play that called into question the striker's good faith

Timetable for the first round of the Olympic Games of the Americas preliminary round (always in local time):

Group A:

May 31: Puerto Rico vs Puerto Rico Dominican Republic (13:00)

United States vs. Nicaragua (19:00).

June 1: Nicaragua vs. Puerto Rico (13:00)

Dominican Republic vs. United States (19:00).

June 2: Nicaragua vs. Dominican Republic (13:00).

Puerto Rico vs. United States (19:00).

Group B:

May 31: Venezuela vs. Cuba (13:00)

Colombia vs. Canada (19:00)

June 1: Colombia vs. Venezuela (13:00).

Canada vs. Cuba (19:00).

June 2: Canada vs. Venezuela (13:00).

Cuba vs. Colombia (19:00)

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top