Portugal allows non-essential travel from the UK and countries with a low infection rate

Lisbon (EFECOM). Portugal allowed non-essential trips from next Monday From the United Kingdom and from the European Union countries associated with the Schengen Area with A. The incidence rate for 14 days is less than 500 cases per 100,000 population.

In a statement, the Ministry of Interior said, Saturday, that travelers from these countries are Including a large part of the European Union, as well as Spain, they do not need to be quarantined Upon arrival and only sThey will be required to submit a negative PCR report that has been done in the past 72 hours upon boarding On the fly.

For European countries experiencing a high incidence of accidents – Croatia, Lithuania, Cyprus, the Netherlands and Sweden – as well as Brazil, India and South Africa, only essential trips are permitted, for professional reasons, for studies, family reunification, or for health or humanitarian reasons.

In addition, they are required, along with negative PCR, to quarantine for 14 days at home or in a place determined by the health authorities upon arrival in Portugal. The government has determined that airlines that allow passengers to board a plane without negative PCR may face fines of between 500 and 2,000 euros per passenger. All of these measures also apply to shipping traffic.

Comfort for tourism

This measure represents a respite for the Portuguese tourism sector, especially with regard to the United Kingdom, as Portugal is one of the few countries and territories around the world that London has included in the “green list” of destinations for this summer and is expected to be important for the arrival of British tourists.

See also  The Canadian economy remained stable in August

British tourism, which before the pandemic accounted for a fifth of total overnight stays, is particularly important for the southern Algarve region and the Madeira archipelago, where UK bookings soared when the “green list” was released. “

Portugal and its archipelago, Madeira and the Azores, make up a list of 12 countries and territories, including which do not require a 10-day quarantine upon return to the United Kingdom, in addition to requesting one PCR test for Coronavirus upon return, instead of the second, once the ban on travel abroad is lifted, Monday.

The list was supplemented by Australia, Brunei, the Falkland, the Faroe Islands, Gibraltar, Iceland, Israel, New Zealand and Singapore.

Sacha Woodward

"Wannabe writer. Lifelong problem solver. Gamer. Incurable web guru. Professional music lover."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top