Mexico extends its legend with 12 titles and brings Panama back to glory


07/17/2023 at 06:52


Sports Writing, July 16 (EFE). – The 27th edition of the Gold Cup, a tournament that was born on March 23, 1963, just over 60 years ago, ended on Sunday with a new invasion of Mexico, this time in a rocky match that defeated Panama 1-0 at the SoFi Stadium in the American city of Los Angeles.

Panama were looking for their first tournament title and were not lacking in reasons, reaching the final undefeated

A total of seven nations have won the most important team tournament in North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Mexico leads the record with 12 titles, the first of which was achieved in 1965 against Guatemala, when the event was called the CONCACAF Nations Championship.

The United States, who ruled two years ago and who in this edition was unable to reach the final and finished in third place, is followed by seven.

Costa Rica has won the tournament three times, Canada twice, and Guatemala, Haiti and Honduras once.

The most important international tournament for top football teams is played in North America, Central America and the Caribbean every two years. It was born as the CONCACAF Nations Championship, but became what we know today as the Gold Cup 32 years ago, in 1991.

On three occasions, Brazil have capitalized on CONCACAF’s call to win the title, but have fallen short on every attempt.

He lost two final matches with Mexico, in 1996 and 2003, and in the 1998 edition he had to settle for third place.

See also  He beat México Femenil Sub-20 and finished leading the pack

And in the 2023 edition, the organization agreed, for the first time, to dispense with the third-place match, admitting that it lacked interest in the players of the participating teams and the audience itself.

Third year champion runner

————————————————– —————

1963 Costa Rica El Salvador Netherlands Antilles

1965 Mexico Guatemala Costa Rica

1967 Guatemala Mexico Honduras

1969 Costa Rica Guatemala and the Netherlands Antilles

1971 Mexico Haiti Costa Rica

1973 Haiti Trinidad and Tobago Mexico

1977 Mexico Haiti El Salvador

1981 Honduras El Salvador Mexico

1985 Canada, Honduras, Costa Rica

1989 Costa Rica USA Trinidad and Tobago

1991 USA Honduras Mexico

1993 Mexico USA Costa Rica

1996 Mexico Brazil USA

1998 Mexico USA Brazil

2000 Canada Columbia Trinidad and Tobago

2002 USA Costa Rica Canada

2003 Mexico Brazil United States

2005 USA Panama Honduras

2007 USA Mexico Canada

2009 Mexico United States Honduras

2011 Mexico USA Panama

2013 United States Panama Mexico

2015 Mexico Jamaica Panama

2017 United States Jamaica Mexico

2019 Mexico United States Haiti

2021 United States Mexico Qatar

2023 Mexico Panama USA


sd / hbr / car / cav

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top