FIFA gives Mexico more games in the 2026 World Cup

Mexico will host More than ten matches in the 2026 World Cup. Gianni Infantinothe FIFA president, said that with the change in the competition system, all countries would have “more” matches to be staged.

Mexico with United States and Canadawill host the 2026 World Cup, which will be organized for the first time in history in three countries.

This World Cup too The number of participating teams will increase from 32 to 48 And with the change in the competition system in the group stage, which will be four teams, the matches will increase.

More matches for Mexico in the 2026 World Cup

Mexico will have over ten matches to stage in World Cup 2026 Gianni Infantino, President FIFA.

Originally the Tri-Finals World Cup had 80 matchesBut the first stage will be held in groups of three teams, so each team was guaranteed two matches, no more.

But FIFA made amends, and decided that the first stage would be carried out in groups of four, as is customary Thus the teams will play at least three matches.

This will raise the level of games from 80 to 104. “With these changes, all countries will have a little bit more,” Infantino said.

With 80 matches, participation was as follows:

Most read in sports
  • Canada: Ten matches.
  • Mexico: ten matches.
  • United States: 60 matches.

Matches held on Mexican and Canadian soil will be in the first phase only, so direct elimination matches will only take place on American soil.

Of course, the Mexican Football Federation requested that the official opening take place in Aztec Stadium from Mexico City, although matches are also held on the same day and at the same time in the United States and Canada.

See also  Delbonis gets to the first role in Roland Garros and plays against Thiem's ​​executioner

Aztec Stadium (Ulysses Naranjo / Mexico)

How many places will the Confederacy award?

For the 2026 World Cup, and with the increase in the number of participants, The confederations will have more quotaswhich is set by FIFA in the following way:

  • AFC: 8 teams.
  • African Union: 9 teams.
  • Conmebol: 6 choices.
  • Oceania: Pick one.
  • European Union: 16 selections.
  • CONCACAF: 6 teams, including the United States, Canada and Mexico.
  • In addition to the fact that there will be two other contested places in the replay.

Do you want to be up to date with the best sports content? Visit our networks and subscribe: Facebook | Twitter | Youtube | Tik Tok

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top