China is imposing sanctions on individuals and organizations from Canada and the United States in response to the Xinjiang sanctions

Madrid, March 27 (European Press) –

On Saturday, the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced the imposition of sanctions on US and Canadian organizations in response to “rumors and false information” about alleged human rights violations against residents of the Xinjiang region in western China. In turn, last week prompted a coordinated package of sanctions between the United States, Canada, the European Union and the United Kingdom.

A spokesman for the ministry said that Beijing’s decision came in response to the sanctions imposed by Washington and Ottawa last week on certain individuals.

“In response, China decided to sanction USCIRF Chair Gail Mansion, USCIRF Vice President Tony Perkins, Canadian Representative Michael Chung and the Subcommittee on Foreign Affairs and Foreign Affairs,” the spokesman explained, citing Hong Kong TV RTH. JK, “International Development of the House of Commons of Canada.”

These three individuals will not be permitted to enter China, including Hong Kong and Macao, and the subcommittee will not be able to “do business” or “conduct exchanges” with Chinese citizens.

Likewise, the spokesperson stressed that US sanctions on the situation in Xinjiang are “unskilled” and warned “parties concerned” against “politically manipulating the Xinjiang-related cases” because they involve “interference in the affairs of Chinese prisoners” and “fingers can burn.”

On Monday, the European Union, the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom announced the imposition of sanctions on those responsible for the suppression of the Uighur minority in Xinjiang, as the Beijing authorities implement programs of monitoring, detention and indoctrination for this group.

China responded immediately to the European Union’s first measures against Chinese leaders since the 1989 Tiananmen Massacre, by imposing sanctions on ten politicians and four entities in the European Union. Among those approved were five members of the European Parliament, three national deputies and two academics.

See also  The Brazilian government selects Bolsonaro's last foreign minister for an embassy in Ottawa - MercoPress

Likewise, Beijing imposed sanctions on nine people and four entities from the United Kingdom, to which these sanctions will now be added to the responsible authorities and entities from the United States and Canada.

In recent days, tensions between the Western bloc and the Asian giant have escalated through an exchange of sanctions and criticisms between the two parties for the alleged violation of human rights in Xinjiang.

The United States has, on several occasions, described China’s actions against Uyghurs, of Turkish origin and the Islamic faith, and other minority groups residing in the Xinjiang Autonomous Region in northwest China as “genocide.”

China has already rejected accusations of repression or genocide against the Uyghurs. In particular, he denied the existence of concentration camps and asserted that they are vocational training facilities and the elimination of Islamic extremism and separatism.

Aileen Morales

"Beer nerd. Food fanatic. Alcohol scholar. Tv practitioner. Writer. Troublemaker. Falls down a lot."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top