British Lions will tour South Africa and exclude playing in UK or Australia

The British & Irish Lions, the British rugby team, scheduled to take place this year in South Africa, will take place as stipulated, and any possibility of the team playing against current world champions in the UK or Australia has been ruled out.

A joint statement issued by tour organizers and the South African Rugby Union (SAR) said today that British Lions have agreed to host the tour by South Africa in 2021, denying the possibility of moving it to the UK or Australia.

“After reviewing the information on the different emergency scenarios being considered, I can confirm that the position envisaged by the council is that the tour will take place as planned in South Africa in 2021,” said head of the British and Irish Lions team, Jason Leonard.

The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) noted that the July-August tour has been under suspicion for months due to the coronavirus situation in South Africa, which has improved dramatically in recent weeks.

The South Africans have not yet started vaccinating the crowd and it is not clear when they will do so, which gives them the expectation that in the round of matches the matches will be played without spectators in the stadiums.

SAR Chairman Mark Alexander still hopes that there will be some fans in the stands which will provide much-needed revenue for the cash-strapped organization.

Alexander confirmed that the original program of the eight-match round, with three tests, was against World Champion Springboks, who had not played since their victory over England in the 2019 World Cup Final in Japan, as they had not participated in the tournament with Nueva. New Zealand, Australia and Argentina in 2020.

See also  Softball prepares for the Pan American Championships 'Sports' Granma

The British and Irish Lions is a rugby team made up of the best players from England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland and since 1888 they have been visiting and facing the three powers in the Southern Hemisphere, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Since 1989, the tour has taken place every four years and they face Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, in that order. The tournament began with touring Australia in 1989, thus, every country receives lions after 12 years of absence.

For all British rugby players, joining the Lions is a lot of fun and is probably more than playing for their national team, and for their opponents beating the British in the Test is a huge achievement. (Telam)

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top