Indigenous Canadians announced a worrying discovery. Around Discover hundreds of unidentified graves Based on previous school accommodation. Thousands of children were forcibly held there for nearly a century.
Cowessess Nation in the Province of Saskatchewan in detail There are graves at Marival Indian Residential School. This boarding school operated between 1899 and 1997. It is the second find of its kind after the school announced by the original city of Tk’emlups Te Secwepemc.
In May, it was announced that the remains of 215 Aboriginal children had been buried in unmarked graves at Kamleops Boarding School. All graves were detected by ground-penetrating radar. Between 1890 and 1997 circa 150,000 indigenous children were arrested in these institutions.
It included over 130 boarding schools run by religious orders, most of them Catholic. The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) noted that “hundreds of unmarked graves have been discovered in the Cowessess First Nation. It’s quite tragic but not surprising“.
AFN President Perry Bellegard asked Canadians to “be with the indigenous people in this very difficult momentsThe Sovereign Indigenous Peoples Federation (FSIN) of Saskatchewan has indicated that unidentified graves may have appeared in other accommodations.
FSIN conducts research on more than 20 boarding schools in Saskatchewan. His work began with the announcement of the discovery of human remains in Kamloops. The system of school accommodation for the indigenous people imposed by Canada in the late nineteenth century.
It sought to eradicate the indigenous culture for which children were forcibly removed from their communities. Then they were sent to more than 130 boarding schools, where Suffered abuse and even experiences. toronto star He notes that the truth commission has estimated the number of children killed at just over 4,000.
This means that more than one in 50 of those who went to those schools died there. The investigation included the testimony of a former Marival student. CBC News Reports The school cemetery was taken over by the Cowessess people by the Catholic Church in the 1970s.