32 Women’s World Cup Teams Determined: Opponents Face Colombia

The Colombian women’s team comes second in the friendly women’s Revelations Cup.

Photo: FCF

And with Panama’s women’s team seeded, one of the eight teams in the tournament, the places for the World Cup, which begins on July 20 in Australia and New Zealand, were ready.

Colombia will participate for the third time in the World Cup and share a group with Germany, Morocco and South Korea. Those led by Nelson Abadia, after participating in the friendly round of the Women’s Scout Cup held in the Aztec region, continue to prepare for friendly duels.

More sports: Linda Caicedo has already arrived in Spain to sign with Real Madrid

France will be the next rival of the Colombians. The meeting will take place on April 7 in Clermont-Ferrand at the Gabriel Monbid stadium on French soil.

After this match, the Tricolor will have another friendly match against another European team to warm up their engines for the first football championship, from which they were unable to advance past the Round of 16.

Canada 2015 was the last World Cup in which the Colombian national team was present. On that occasion, they fell 2-0 in the Round of 16 to the United States, the biggest force in women’s soccer.

This week, Haiti, Portugal and Panama complete the three winners of the last intercontinental qualifier, a shortlist of juniors who will share the stipulation with Morocco, Vietnam, Ireland, Zambia and the Philippines.

You may be interested: Unbeaten, Colombia finished second in the W Revelations Cup

Celebrations in the respective countries did justice to the giant step taken by the women’s teams, which were congratulated by heads of government, sporting leaders and stars such as Cristiano Ronaldo. Everyone highlighted the example and the push they would give in their countries to the development of women’s football.

See also  Steady waves and unstable winds .. Barcelona challenges the America's Cup sailors | sports

The expansion from 24 to 32 participating teams, the same as the one with which the World Cup was held in Qatar two months ago, favored the classification of new countries, which was precisely the goal with which the new format was adopted: betting on the development of women’s football in all continents.

Once the competitions are closed, the list of participants is summed up in 12 European teams, 6 Asians (Australia belongs to that federation), 6 from CONCACAF (North, Central America and the Caribbean), 4 Africans, 3 from South America and one new. Zealand from Oceania.

The United States will defend the title it won in 2019 in France, when it reaffirmed the title it took in 2015 in Canada. Previous champion teams have been Japan in 2011, Germany in 2007 and 2003, the United States in 1999, Norway in 1995 and the United States in 1991.

We invite you to read: Copa Libertadores: The debts of millionaires

The 2023 World Cup will open on July 20 with the New Zealand-Norway match in Auckland and will conclude on August 20 with the Grand Final in Sydney.

The first stage groups have already been drawn and will be as follows (the two best groups advance to the Round of 16):

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, the Philippines and Switzerland.

Group B: Australia, Ireland, Nigeria and Canada.

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia and Japan.

Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark and China.

Group E: the United States, Vietnam, the Netherlands and Portugal.

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil and Panama.

See also  [GP de Estados Unidos, En Vivo] Watch the Formula 1 race and qualifying in Mexico, Spain, Argentina and Peru with Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, Chico Perez and Carlos Sainz | Sports

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy and Argentina.

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia and South Korea.

🚴🏻⚽🏀 Latest sports news?: Everything you need to know about global sports is in El Espectador

Amber Cross

"Music buff. Unapologetic problem solver. Organizer. Social media maven. Web nerd. Incurable reader."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top